Chaplaincy Council

The Chaplaincy Council works with the minister in promoting the mission of the church. The minister in charge of the parish and the PCC have a duty to consult together on matters of general concern and importance to the parish, and to co-operate in promoting in the parish the whole mission of the church: pastoral, evangelistic, social and ecumenical. This includes almost everything to do with the church’s work in the parish, and its relationship with the deanery and the diocese.

The chaplaincy AGM was held by Zoom on 21 March 2021.  The Chaplaincy Council members and their rôles are currentlyas listed below.

Roger Smith, Chaplain and ex-officio chairman
Nigel Summersall, Churchwarden & Secretary, half Treasurer & lay vice-chairman
Patricia Bigot, Churchwarden & Electoral Roll Officer
Julie Johnson, Reader, Archdeaconry Synod rep & website watcher
Jim Mallett, Archdeaconry Synod rep & sidesperson
Graham Gardner, elected Lay Member until 2024
Andy Marshall, elected Lay Member until 2022 & website/publicity
Jac Phillips, elected Lay Member until 2022 & events organiser
Sue Robinson, elected Lay Member until 2023 & Music Team member
John Gifford, elected Lay Member until 2023, half Treasurer, Standing Committee
Phyl Mallett, elected Lay Member until 2023 & sidesperson
Delia Smith, elected lay member until 2024, Minutes Secretary, Standing Committee & website/publicity

Steven Hopkins, not a Council member, was elected by the Council as Safeguarding Officer & ID Checker and as a sidesperson

Trevor Jones, not a Council member, was elected by the Council as a sidesperson

Alison Kane & Carol Gardner, not Council members, were elected by the Council to be Music Team members

Council members, left to right & top to bottom:

Delia Smith, Roger Smith, Phyl Mallett, Jim Mallett, Andy Marshall, Sue Robinson, Patricia Bigot, John Gifford,
Julie Johnson, Jac Phillips, Nigel Summersall, Graham Gardner